Version Control

What is Version Control ?

Version Control System (VCS) is a open source software which helps developers to work together and maintain a complete history of their work.

AE Techsupport will help you to deploy in your development environment.

Why need Version Control System ?

  • Allow developers to work simultaneously on same project.
  • Do not overwrite each other’s changes.
  • Maintain history of every revision of everything.

A VCS is divided into two categories.

  • Centralized Version Control System (CVCS).
  • Distributed/Decentralized Version Control System (DVCS).

GIT

GIT is a distributed revision control and source code management system. It is free open source application, Git was first designed by Linus Torvalds for Linux kernel development.

  • You can clone the Git repository as a local working copy.
  • You can modify the local working copy by adding/editing files.
  • You can also update the local working copy by taking other developer’s modification.
  • You can review the changes and different before commit.
  • Once you commit the changes. If everything is fine, then you push the changes to the repository.
  • After committing, if you see something wrong, then you can restore the last commit and push the changes to the repository.

SVN

Create Repository:

The repository is a centralized place where developers store all their work project. Repository is also support history of files like Create, Delete and Modify.

Checkout :

‘Checkout’ Options use for create a working copy from the repository. Working copy is your own local copy where developers do their changes, and later on, submit these changes to the repository.

Update :

‘Update’ operation is used to synchronize local copy from their repository. As repository is shared by all the teams other developers can commit their changes and your working copy becomes older.
Perform Changes

Once you checkout you perform changes. you can existing file or delete/rename etc.

Once add files/directories. But this effect doesn’t immediately update on server, until you commit these change in repository.

Similarly one can delete files/directories. Delete operation immediately deletes file from the working copy, but actual deletion of the file is added to the pending change-list and changes are made to the repository after the commit operation.

‘Rename’ operation changes the name of the file/directory. ‘Move’ operation is used to move files/directories from one place to another in a repository tree.

Get answers and advice

Our goal is to answer all your questions in a timely manner.